From Lara's Origins to the Modern Era

Every Tomb Raider Game in Order by Release Date – From Croft Manor to the Siberian Tundra

Are you a fan of the iconic Tomb Raider franchise and want to play through all the games in order? Look no further! We’ve compiled a list of every Tomb Raider game in order by release date, so you can experience the evolution of Lara Croft and her adventures from the very beginning.

1. Tomb Raider (1996)

Tomb Raider 1 (1996)

The original Tomb Raider game was released in 1996 for PlayStation, Sega Saturn, and MS-DOS. It introduced us to the now-iconic character of Lara Croft, an archaeologist and adventurer who travels the world in search of ancient artifacts. The game was praised for its 3D graphics, innovative gameplay, and challenging puzzles.

2. Tomb Raider II (1997)

Released just one year later, Tomb Raider II followed Lara on another adventure to recover the legendary Dagger of Xian. The game was notable for its improved graphics and gameplay mechanics, including the ability to drive vehicles and swim underwater.

3. Tomb Raider III: Adventures of Lara Croft (1998)

Tomb Raider IIIAdventures of Lara Croft (1998)

Tomb Raider III saw Lara travel to various locations around the world to recover four mysterious artifacts. The game introduced new moves and abilities for Lara, such as crawling and crouching, and featured more complex puzzles and enemies.

4. Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)

In The Last Revelation, Lara discovers an ancient artifact called the Iris, leading her on a quest to stop an evil cult from unleashing an ancient god on the world. The game improved on its predecessors with better graphics and a more cinematic story.

5. Tomb Raider Chronicles (2000)

Tomb Raider_ Chronicles (2000)

Tomb Raider Chronicles featured four different adventures, each with a unique storyline and setting. It also gave players a glimpse into Lara’s past, with levels that took place during her childhood and training.

6. Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness (2003)

After a three-year hiatus, The Angel of Darkness saw Lara accused of murder and on the run from the law. The game was criticized for its clunky controls and numerous bugs, but it was still an important installment in the series.

7. Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)

Tomb Raider_ Legend

Tomb Raider: Legend marked a fresh start for the series, with new developers and a renewed focus on storytelling and character development. The game saw Lara on a quest to uncover the truth about her mother’s disappearance.

8. Tomb Raider: Anniversary (2007)

Anniversary was a remake of the original Tomb Raider game, with updated graphics and gameplay mechanics. It was praised for its faithful recreation of the original game, while also adding new content and improvements.

9. Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)

Tomb Raider_ Underworld (2008)

In Underworld, Lara traveled to various locations around the world to uncover the secrets of her family’s past. The game was praised for its improved graphics and gameplay mechanics, as well as its emotional storyline.

10. Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light (2010)

Guardian of Light was a departure from the traditional Tomb Raider formula, featuring co-op gameplay and an isometric viewpoint. Players controlled both Lara and a new character, Totec, as they navigated various traps and puzzles.

11. Tomb Raider (2013)

Tomb Raider (2013)

The 2013 reboot of the series saw a younger and more vulnerable Lara stranded on a mysterious island. The game was praised for its cinematic storytelling, character development, and improved gameplay mechanics.

12. Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)

In Rise of the Tomb Raider, Lara took her adventuring skills to Siberia in search of the lost city of Kitezh. This game expanded on the mechanics of the 2013 reboot, with more open-world exploration and crafting.

Players could now collect resources and use them to craft weapons and gear, adding a new layer of depth to the gameplay. And with the sprawling, snow-covered landscapes of Siberia as the backdrop, players were treated to some of the most stunning visuals in the series yet.

13. Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

Shadow of The Tomb Raider

The latest installment in the series, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, saw Lara on a mission to stop a Mayan apocalypse. The game continued the trend of the rebooted series with improved graphics, immersive gameplay, and a deeper focus on Lara’s character development.

14. Tomb Raider 25th Anniversary (2021)

In celebration of the 25th anniversary of the franchise, Square Enix released a special edition game that includes all of the main Tomb Raider games. This game includes the original graphics for the first five games and improved graphics for the rebooted series.

15. Tomb Raider Reloaded (2022)

Tomb Raider Reloaded is the mobile game that featured Lara Croft on her next adventure. This game was different from the other games from the franchise as it had a more cartoonish, arcade-style approach.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Which Tomb Raider game is the best?

There’s no definitive answer to this question, as it ultimately depends on personal preference. Some fans prefer the original games for their pioneering gameplay mechanics, while others enjoy the more recent rebooted series for its cinematic storytelling and character development.

2. What platforms can I play these games on?

The Tomb Raider games are available on a variety of platforms, including PlayStation, Xbox, PC, and mobile devices.

3. Are there any Tomb Raider games that I should skip?

While every game in the series has its strengths and weaknesses, most fans would agree that Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness is one of the weaker installments and can be skipped if desired.

4. Will there be more Tomb Raider games in the future?

While nothing has been officially announced, it’s likely that there will be more Tomb Raider games in the future. The franchise has proven to be a popular and enduring one, and there’s still plenty of room for Lara Croft to explore new worlds and uncover ancient mysteries.

5. Who is the actress that plays Lara Croft in the rebooted series?

The actress that plays Lara Croft in the rebooted series is Camilla Luddington, who has provided both motion capture and voice acting for the character since 2013.

Final Words

The Tomb Raider franchise has come a long way since its debut in 1996, but one thing remains constant: the iconic character of Lara Croft and her thrilling adventures. From the original game’s 3D graphics to the more recent installments’ immersive storytelling and character development, the series has captivated audiences for over two decades.

We hope this list of every Tomb Raider game in order by release date has been helpful for fans looking to relive the series or newcomers eager to dive in.